NRM To Elect Party Representatives In 55 Districts

NRM To Elect Party Representatives In 55 Districts

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) electoral commission Chairperson Dr. Tanga Odoi has said that the ruling party plans to conduct internal elections in 55 districts; an exercise that will see the said districts choose party representatives ahead of upcoming national delegate’s conference that will take place from January to 25 at Namboole stadium, Wakiso district.

Dr. Odoi revealed that the elections to choose party representatives in those districts that were affected by the creation of new administrative units will be held on January 21, 2020

“Once the structures are acquired we shall forward the names of those elected to the NRM Secretariat for accreditation,” Dr Odoi told journalists in Kampala on Thursday, January 16, 2020. According to Odoi, the party will spend 2.7 million shillings on the elections.

The elections will be conducted in Omollo, Rubanda, Kagadi, Kakumiro, Gulu, Kabaale, Kibaale, Namisindwa, Pakwach, Butebo, Rukiga and Kyotera. Others are Bunyagabu, Nabiratuk, Bugweri, Kasanda, Kwania, Kapelebyong, Kikuube, Obongi, Kazo, Rwampara, Madi-Okollo, Kitagwenda, Kalenga and  Kalaki.

There will also be elections in six new municipalities; Kotido, Apac, Nebbi, Bigiri, and Schema. All main-stream party positions will be filled on top of structures for veterans, youths, women, elders, and people with disabilities leagues.